How are my first swarm?

Today was pretty windy and damp ~16ºC

The bees had drunk all the syrup in the side unit of the hive, but I don’t think they’d found the sugar syrup on the top of the hive.

Looking through the window they definitely seem to be making a second and third comb, but its so covered in the swarm I can’t see much. I’ve lent my beekeeping suit to a friend for dressing up, and I don’t fancy going into the hive without my suit for protection. They may well seem non-aggressive while I’m outside, but they may start taking notice of me once I start pulling out their comb.

They don’t seem very active, which is a little worrying. I really want to get in there and look for the queen, or for evidence of eggs/larvae to show that she is in there.

Leave a Reply

